Orchestre symphonique de Montréal presents

The Impressionism of Debussy & Ravel

Making his return appearance after a triumphant success with the OSM in 2015, conductor Juanjo Mena conducts Debussy & Ravel, and violinist Veronika Eberle performs Brahms’ Concerto op. 77, a pillar of the German Romantic repertoire. Grandeur and intensity await you in this engaging concert!

Jean Papineau-Couture, Trois pièces (approx. 11 min.)
Brahms, Violin Concerto in D major, op. 77 (approx. 38 min.)
Debussy, Images (excerpt): “Iberia” (approx. 20 min.)
​Ravel, Daphnis et Chloé, Suite no. 2  (approx. 47 min.)

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal,
Juanjo Mena, conductor

Chief Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic in Manchester, United Kingdom, Juanjo Mena is one of Spain’s most distinguished international conductors.  He has been Artistic Director of the Bilbao Symphony Orchestra, Chief Guest Conductor of the Orchestra del Teatro Carlo Felice in Genoa and Principal Guest Conductor of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra.

Since his American debut with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra in 2004 he has conducted most of the leading orchestras in the United States, including Chicago, Boston, Houston, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestras, New York and Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestras, the Cleveland Orchestra and the Philadelphia Orchestra.

He has led the BBC Philharmonic on tours of China and South Korea, Europe and Spain, including performances in Beijing, Seoul, Cologne, Frankfurt, Munich, Vienna and Madrid, and performs with them every year at the BBC Proms in London.

Veronika Eberle, violin

Veronika Eberle has established a reputation as one of the most promising violin talents to emerge from Germany in recent years. Her exceptional talent and poise, and the maturity of her musicianship have been recognized by some of the world’s finest orchestras and festivals, as well as by some of the world’s most eminent conductors.

For more information and tickets: www.placedesarts.com 514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112