Sir Roger Norrington, conductor
Arabella Steinbacher, violin

Schumann’s Spring

Presentation of the concert
Brahms, Violin Concerto, Op. 77 (approx. 40 min.)
Schumann, Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38 (Spring) (approx. 30 min.)

Arabella Steinbacher, the remarkable German violinist who has made notable recordings of Bartók, Milhaud and Shostakovich, plays the Brahms concerto, one of the most popular and also one of the most demanding in the repertory. Schumann’s Spring Symphony, used as the title of a film by Éric Rohmer, evokes a time “full of happiness” in the composer’s life. Sir Roger Norrington, always a much-loved guest at the OSM, conducts this program designed to welcome the new season.

For tickets and information:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts