John Storgårds, conductor
André Laplante, piano

Presentation of the Nordic Saga concert

Sibelius, Night Ride and Sunrise, Op. 55 (approx. 16 min.)

Grieg, Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16 (approx. 30 min.)

Nielsen, Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 29 (The Inextinguishable) (approx. 36 min.)

In recognition of the 150th anniversary of the births of Nielsen and Sibelius, the OSM presents an irresistible Nordic program. Nielsen’s Fourth Symphony, composed during the years of World War I, is laid out in four movements but played without pause, and evokes the composer’s irrepressible will to live. Grieg’s Piano Concerto remains one of the most popular in the repertory, and appears in Andrian Lynes’ film Lolita. André Laplante, winner of a Juno and named an Office of the Order of Canada in 2004, ranks among Canada’s leading pianists. To open the concert, John Storgårds conducts the symphonic poem Night Ride and Sunrise by his countryman Sibelius.

For tickets and information:  514-842-2112 or 1-866-842-2112

Related Posts